You can now do more with FaceTime thanks to Apple’s improvements in iOS 15.1, which go beyond merely calling your loved ones.
You can now share your screen with others on a call thanks to a new screen sharing tool called SharePlay, which is fantastic for selecting a movie, looking through a picture album, or anything else that benefits from group conversation.
Here’s how the new screen sharing feature works:
- Start FaceTime on your iPad or iPhone.
- After selecting the people with whom you wish to share your screen, touch New FaceTime, and then press FaceTime. Choose a recent contact instead to start a video call.
- Tap the SharePlay button in the new control panel’s top-right corner when the call has connected.
- The dropdown menu, choose Share My Screen. Screen sharing should start up three seconds after the countdown has finished.
You may access any app you choose to show the callers after FaceTime screen sharing has begun. When FaceTime screen sharing is enabled, a sharing symbol will continue to appear in the top-left corner of the screen. You may press this icon to access the FaceTime control panel.
For additional screen space, you may slide the face of the currently active caller away; you can then do the same to bring them back into view. When viewing another person’s shared screen, you will see their name immediately below the top-left icon, along with icons to write them a message, love what they’re sharing, and share it with someone else.
Using the SharePlay interface, you may also view movies and TV shows with friends while listening to music. Everyone on the call will see the same synchronized playing and controls when you stream movies or TV episodes. We have a dedicated tutorial that details all of the new FaceTime capabilities in iOS 15 if you’d want to learn more.